OFFICE OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

1000 Broadway, Suite 300 Oakland, CA 94607-4033

ousd.org/boe | boe@ousd.org

510.879.8199 w | 510.879.2299 f | 510.879.2300 TTY/TDD



BOARD OF EDUCATION 2020

Jody London, President, District 1

Shanthi Gonzales, Vice President, District 6

jody.london@ousd.org

shanthi.gonzales@ousd.org

Aimee Eng, District 2

Jumoke Hinton Hodge, District 3

Gary Yee, District 4

Roseann Torres, District 5

James Harris, District 7

aimee.eng@ousd.org

iumoke.hintonhodge@ousd.org

gary.yee@ousd.org

roseann.torres@ousd.org

james.harris@ousd.org

June 24, 2020

Legislative File No.

20-1359

Introduction Date Enactment No.

6/24/2020 20-1044

Enactment Date:

6/24/2020 er

From: Jody London

To:

Subj: Reappointment - Renee Swayne, Andrew Nelsen, Andre Spearman, Tina Longfield, Saleem Shakir-

Gilmore – Measures A, B and J Independent Citizens' School Facilities Bond Oversight Committee

(Measures ABJ Committee)

Board of Education

ACTION REQUESTED

Ratification by the Board of Education of President of Board's reappointment of statutorily and Board Bylaw 9131 eligible individuals named herein to the Measures A, B, and J Independent Citizens' School Facilities Bond Oversight Committee (ABJ): Renee Swayne (3rd Term), Andrew Nelsen (2nd Term), Andre Spearman (2nd Term), Tina Longfield (2nd Term), and Saleem Shakir-Gilmore (3rd Term), each, for term ending June 10, 2022.

BACKGROUND/DISCUSSION

The duties of the Measures A,B,J Committee, as defined by Board Bylaw 9131, is to provide advice and recommendation to the District regarding the expenditure of funds for bond related projects, to actively review and report on the proper expenditure of taxpayers' money for school construction and to take any necessary action in furtherance of its purpose including, but not limited to, receiving and reviewing copies of annual independent financial audits and deferred maintenance proposals, inspecting school facilities and grounds, receiving and reviewing cost-saving measures designed to reduce the costs of professional fees and site preparation. The Committee also shall have the option to tour sites where Bond funds are being expended, with support from the Superintendent.

RECOMMENDATION

I, having determined that each person named herein has satisfactorily served to date, pursuant to Board Bylaw 9131, hereby nominate Renee Swayne (3rd Term), Andrew Nelsen (2nd Term), Andre Spearman (2nd Term), Tina Longfield (2nd Term), and Saleem Shakir-Gilmore (3rd Term), each, for term ending June 10, 2022, on the Measures ABJ Committee. I ask each's confirmation by my colleagues.

JL:ER:If