## OFFICE OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

1000 Broadway, Suite 300 Oakland, CA 94607-4033

ousd.org/boe | boe@ousd.org

510.879.8199 w | 510.879.2299 f | 510.879.2300 TTY/TDD



## BOARD OF EDUCATION 2020

**Jody London**, President, District 1

Shanthi Gonzales, Vice President, District 6

jody.london@ousd.org

shanthi.gonzales@ousd.org

Aimee Eng, District 2

Jumoke Hinton Hodge, District 3

Gary Yee, District 4

Roseann Torres, District 5

James Harris, District 7

aimee.eng@ousd.org

To:

iumoke.hintonhodge@ousd.org

garv.vee@ousd.org

roseann.torres@ousd.org

james.harris@ousd.org

March 11, 2020

Legislative File ID: 20-0537

Introduction Date: 3/11/2020 Enactment Number: 20-0440

Enactment Date: 3/11/2020 lf

From: Jody London

**Board of Education** 

Subj: Reappointment - Monique Adorno-Jimenez and Amana Harris - Measure G1 - District Teacher

Retention and Middle School Improvement Act Oversight Commission

## **ACTION REQUESTED**

Confirmation by the Board of Education of President of Board's nomination of Monique Adorno-Jimenez, for third term, ending April 15, 2022; and Amana Harris, for second term, ending April 15, 2022, to the Measure G1 - District Teacher Retention and Middle School Improvement Act Oversight Commission.

## **BACKGROUND/DISCUSSION**

The duties of the Measure G1 Commission, as defined by the Measure G1 Approved Ballot Measure and Board Bylaw 9131, is "to advise and report to the Board of Education and shall be responsible for (a) oversight of proper allocation and use of all parcel tax monies, (b) reviewing annual independent audit reports, and (c) submitting recommendations to the Board of Education for any new or modified policies and administrative regulations to ensure the Oakland Unified School District's compliance with the requirements and intent of Measure G1."

The Commission is composed of five members, with staggered terms, appointed pursuant to membership criteria established by Board Bylaw 9131, with an individual's terms of appointment limited to a maximum of three two-year consecutive terms or the fulfillment of said terms thereof.

The incumbents have served satisfactorily. Their respective current term expires April 15, 2020.

I, pursuant to Board Bylaw 9131, hereby nominate Monique Adorno-Jimenez, for third term, ending April 15, 2022; and Amana Harris, for second term, ending April 15, 2022. each, as a member of Measure G1 Commission, and recommend confirmation of the reappointment.

JL:ER:If

3/12/2020

3/12/2020

Jody London

President, Board of Education

Kyla Johnson Trammell
Superintendent and Secretary,

**Board of Education**